Senator Rodríguez’s statement on multi-purpose facility ruling

Senator José Rodríguez released the following statement today in response to a ruling by an Austin judge that would allow the City of El Paso to build a multi-purpose facility it plans to build in the Duranguito neighborhood, but the facility cannot be intended for sports:

The judge has clearly told the city it cannot build a sports facility, which the city clearly had been planning. Enough is enough. Duranguito can be restored and become an asset to both residents and visitors. How? It can be done through the development of the neighborhood itself as a cultural and performing arts facility. In conjunction with the neighborhood’s historically important buildings, and the Mexican American Cultural Institute at the Abraham Chavez Theater, this could be a walkable, living historical community that would be an international heritage tourism attraction. The city must not allow any further destruction of this neighborhood, especially in light of the preliminary findings of the historical survey. If the city wants to build a sports facility, it should let the public know clearly that’s its intention, and it should start that process over in an open and transparent way.

Additional Information 

People who voted in the most recent mayoral election are eligible to sign Paso del Sur’s most recent petition in support of creating a historic district in Barrio Duranguito. The petition can be signed at the District Office located at 100 N Ochoa St. Suite A, El Paso, TX 79901.


José Rodríguez represents Texas Senate District 29, which includes the counties of El Paso, Hudspeth, Culberson, Jeff Davis, and Presidio. He represents both urban and rural constituencies, and more than 350 miles of the Texas-Mexico border. Senator Rodríguez currently serves as the Chairman of the Texas Senate Democratic Caucus, and is a member of the Senate Committees on Natural Resources and Economic Development; Transportation; Veteran Affairs and Border Security; and Agriculture, Water, and Rural Affairs (Vice Chair).  


« »